How to negotiate part time work? (When currently full time salaried)

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
C40

How to negotiate part time work? (When currently full time salaried)

Post by C40 »

This is a continuation of the "Should I quit now or keep working" thread, but I wanted to start another thread with another title to focus on this specific subject.

For background: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=7785

Very short background:
- I've finished the van I've been building that I expect to live in for at least a couple years while I travel around the U.S. and to a lot of outdoor/adventure stuff.
- My house sale closing is in a couple days
- I was planning to send my boss a letter of resignation right after house closing. But now I'm wondering if I should keep working for a while. (For more details on how this would work out, see the other thread linked above)

I do feel like the reasonable thing to do is to keep working and see how I like it. When I was previously thinking about continuing work while living in the van, I was thinking about 'home basing' in cities in the eastern half of the US because flights to the cities where I work would be faster and cheaper. But the western US is much better for what I want to do. So today I looked at cities in the west and checked what the flights were like going to my work cities (they'll take significantly longer), and I checked distances from those airports to national forest/parks/etc. The prospects as far as outdoor areas are much, much, much better. There are a variety of cities that would probably work well (off memory: Denver, Boise, Spokane, Portland, San Fransisco, Sacramento, Los Angeles, +probably San Diego, Vegas, Phoenix, Albuquerque)