Is a 4 year degree worth it?

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
trad3rm8

Is a 4 year degree worth it?

Post by trad3rm8 »

Hi,
I used to work in IT, until I got fired for a DUI (leaving superbowl party, not driving during work). There is a state university which will charge me about 15-18k and basically give me a 4 year degree in Business Administration, but I don't think I will learn anything useful. The program does not offer accounting courses, IT courses, or anything I can actually get a job with... It is just for a 4 year BS degree in Business administration.

I already have an AA degree in business administration, and about 4-5 years in IT (all at a very low level, setting up computer labs, repairing desktops, and a little bit of SQL/Database work).

I used to lie about having a 4 year degree and it worked very well, no one ever checks to see if you have a real degree if your not a licensed professional like a Nurse, CPA, Lawyer.

Do you think it would be worth getting a real 4 year degree for the cost of $18,000 US dollars, or will the money be better spent in VTI for an unemployed 27 year old?

jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Re: Is a 4 year degree worth it?

Post by jacob »

At current valuations, you can expect VTI to return around 0% per year for the next decade UNLESS valuations have ascended to a permanently high level relative to the 20th century. As for whether a degree is worth it, I don't know. Usually degrees are required to get your foot in the door and allow you to get real experience. If you're already in/have experience, degrees are less useful.

JamesR

Post by JamesR »

Yeah if you already have IT experience, I'd keep at it. Get another IT job and develop your experience & career that way. Go in the right direction and you could be making $60k+ within 2-3 years? I dunno, depends a lot on your area, and skills.