Leveraging Offers from other companies for wage raise

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
Slevin

Leveraging Offers from other companies for wage raise

Post by Slevin »

Hey guys, I'm somewhat new to the working world, so I wanted some professional advice while I'm in the accumulation phase.

I have a pay and performace review coming up with the current company I work at. As far as I know, they consider me to be a very good employee (give me awards etc fairly often). Earlier this week, I was invited to a hiring fair at a competitor's company, and decided to go to see how honed my interviewing skills were (and try to see where my resume and interviewing skills could be polished up). Somewhat to my surprise, I got interviewed with somebody who I got along with and I had enough background in the areas they were looking for to get a job offer on the spot. They offered me a significant raise in pay (about 15%, and I'm sure I could counteroffer and pull it up to 20%... The HR recruiter seemed to really not want to lose me).

Is it prudent/okay to bring the offer to my pay review to see if my current company will match that pay raise, or is this considered rude? Along this line, if I was to do this should I try to bring the offer from the competitor higher before this review? Just looking for some guidance here on what is acceptable here professionally.

startbyserving

Re: Leveraging Offers from other companies for wage raise

Post by startbyserving »

First, how interested are you in switching to the other company? You sound like you hit it off, so that is something you may want to consider.

Personally, I would talk to your current company sooner rather than later.