Retraining in a new trade?

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
themodernchap

Retraining in a new trade?

Post by themodernchap »

I have a potential oppertunity to train as an Electrician.

I did a degree in English Literature and then a post-grad in Education to become a teacher, however there are virtually no teaching jobs in my own country and the work is highly stressful for little reward.

Currently on a local job board there are 44 Electrican's jobs listed offering an average lowest starting salary of £22,500p/a obviously the range runs up to around £40k but I used the lowest figures.

I currently earn 19,000 gross but am on a temporary contract so there are no benefits or job security.

It will cost me about £6,000 to self-fund the apprenticeship, but I would be employed though that whole period but on quite a low income. It will obviously delay my ERE ambitions but would probably provide a lot more security and job satisfaction. It will take 4 years to become fully qualified. I am good with my hands and perfer practical work to sitting under artificial light in an office all day pretending to work.

What does the ERE community think? It feels like a big committment, and makes me feel guilty for "wasting" my educational training. I am conflicted.

Dragline

Re: Retraining in a new trade?

Post by Dragline »

Your prior training is what is referred to as a "sunk cost" and making decisions based on it is known as the "sunk cost fallacy" -- i.e., its a bad idea because the fact that you invested in the degree in the past does not determine what your best options for the future. It just gives you one form of certification.

The only thing you should learn from this past is that it is better not to make a long-term commitment to something on a half-hearted basis without considering all of the ramifications for your future.