ERE in the university

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
sky

ERE in the university

Post by sky »

I am a part time instructor at a local college, teaching a course on urban planning and sustainability.

I worked in a lesson on ERE as part of sustainability and lifestyles of people who are trying to conserve, reduce, reuse, recycle, etc. It was also presented as career advice to the students.

I first asked what was the minimum amount that a student could live on. There were a number of answers between $300 and $1,000.

I introduced the concept of safe withdrawal rate of 4% as a rule of thumb that has worked for many years with investments in the stock market, not always but a reasonable rule of thumb. Then I showed how a 4% swr is equivalent to an investment amount 25 times annual expenses, and likewise 300 times monthly expenses.

I then drew a table on the board with various monthly expense levels in one column, 500, 1000, 1500, 2000, 2500 and 3000. In the second column, I put the investment amount that would produce this amount: 150k, 300k, 450k, 600k, 750k, 900k. Some of the students were laughing with skepticism as to how anyone could get that much money.

I then explained that we were going to use an example salary of a little over 50,000 per year, that resulted in net income after taxes of 36,000, or 3,000 per month. This is a typical salary that urban planners might expect after a few years.

I then wrote another table with a column showing the monthly expense amounts, and a column with the difference between 3,000 in income and the monthly expense, calling that column the savings amount. We talked a little bit about 500 a month being difficult, although with no car, a shared housing arrangement and cooking at home, it is possible. 1,000 a month is easier, 1,500 is easy and anything above that is luxury. I also noted the surprisingly high amount of savings if your expenses are low.