Help a Noob Build a Bike

Live local, get around without breaking the bank
DSKla

Help a Noob Build a Bike

Post by DSKla »

Or convince me to let a bike shop handle it.

My friend had a State 4130 fixed gear, and he managed to slightly bend one of the arms of the frame that attaches to the back wheel (I am a noob so I don't happen to know the technical name for it). So he decided to just upgrade to a geared bike and give me the entire State bike for free. I bought a new frame for 20% off during the current sale, and I want to know how difficult it will be for me to take all of the components off the old frame and install them on the new one.

What tools will I need?

Is there any part that requires too much skill for someone who has never built a bike? Some step that I should outsource to a bike shop?

I'm willing to purchase tools (if they aren't super expensive) and watch tons of youtube videos. I can also use my local bike shops tools for free if I know what I'm doing (no one is going to hover over me and walk me through it). I'd like to use this opportunity to learn as much as I can about bike repair and maintenance, but if it should be done by someone competent, I can just bring it to the shop and learn the repairs as they crop up. According to my friend, who knows his bikes and how to fix them, all of the components are in great shape. But he told me I should have a shop do it for the sake of convenience.

The other factor to consider is if I have a shop install everything and keep the receipt, I get a one year warranty on the frame. If i install it myself, I void the warranty.