UK property question

All the different ways of solving the shelter problem. To be static or mobile? Roots, legs, or wheels?
bristoldude

UK property question

Post by bristoldude »

My dad brought up that he'd like to help me get on the housing ladder.
He knows about my shorter term plans to travel and contract work but still thinks its a good idea to start buying a house, whether or not I plan to live in it long term.

His suggestion is that he helps with a large chunk for a deposit on a two or three bedroom house, and I pay a smaller chunk of deposit and take out a mortgage for the rest.

The plan would then be to rent out the spare bedrooms, and mine as well if I'm away for periods of more than a month or so. My dad would receive a % of any rent I took from tenants and % if the house was sold.

This sounds like a solid idea to me as long as the outcome is either substantially reduced housing costs or rental income.

I'm new to this, and hear a lot about the ridiculous price of uk housing, so I wonder if I'm missing anything obvious?
What sums do I need to do to figure out if this works, other than just (mortgage payments + bills + rates + repair costs) against probable rental income?

George the original one

Re: UK property question

Post by George the original one »

If you let a management company handle all the rental details, then they'll want a cut.

CelticTiger

Post by CelticTiger »

I know Bristol prices are different from up north but zoopla.co.uk and rightmove.co.uk will be your friends for research. I head it is expensive down there.

It depends how many bedrooms you want to rent out.

Check out the rent a room scheme https://www.gov.uk/rent-room-in-your-ho ... oom-scheme
£4250 tax free may be enough for you. My brother did this for a few years, and doubled his money on the house up in Aberdeen. No need for an accountant or management company. His room mates were mostly international students (the type that study not party)