Living in a tent long-term

All the different ways of solving the shelter problem. To be static or mobile? Roots, legs, or wheels?
theanimal

Living in a tent long-term

Post by theanimal »

I'm considering living in a tent for a while after I graduate from school this spring. Reasons? 1. Saves a ton on expenses 2. It's a lot of fun! I have a lot of experience living in a tent as I spent 75 days this summer living/travelling in part of Alaska's wilderness (tundra, glaciers etc.)

This is all dependent on what I do after school because if I decide to stay near home I will just live with my parents.

Anyways, wondering if anyone has done this/thoughts? Advice?

Ego

Re: Living in a tent long-term

Post by Ego »

Reminds me of one of my person heroes, Goran Kropp. He loved to climb mountains. To save money he lived in a tent in Sweden. Then he bicycled to Nepal, climbed Everest unaided without supplemental oxygen then turned around and biked back home.

http://www.adventure-journal.com/2013/0 ... ran-kropp/

You'd be in good company.

I'd be interested to know more about your plan. Where, how, type of tent...?

fips

Post by fips »

I met someone in his thirties on a camping ground in Spain (or was it Italy?). He looked rather well equipped compared to many other pass-through campers. When we got to know him it turned out he comes from Turkey, has travelled for multiple years and countries by then and currently lives from being a language teacher.

From my own experience I know it's possible to live on very little. I especially liked to learn about towels that dry easily, how to manage which clothes you use, how to combine it and how often washing is needed. Also figure out about nutrition, where to get which food, and what tools could serve multiple purposes.

@Ego: Thanks for the blog, I love Scandinavia, its not particular warm there either so your guy has an interesting case .. ;-)

theanimal

Post by theanimal »