Yet Another Midwestern Engineer

Say hello!!
Seamus

Yet Another Midwestern Engineer

Post by Seamus »

Hello All

I discovered this website in summer 2016, through MMM's site. I've always been good at saving and I've been leery of consumerism since at least high school, so I won't say discovering these blogs has changed the way I live very much. The most important thing I've learned is that I should become more of an investor, rather than just a saver. It is nice to know there are others out there though.

I'm 26 years old, single, and I live in Southeast Michigan. I have a bachelor's degree in engineering and I work in the industry. I currently have 15 or 16 years of expenses saved, and my expenses are about 20% of my net income. As I noted above, I don't know much about investing yet. Since college I've found relatively cheap places to rent, mostly from my coworkers. (Seems like professional engineers are especially driven to buy houses at a young age, resulting in a surplus of rooms that need filling.) Unfortunately I do own a car. I drive about 4000 miles per year mostly on rock climbing trips. Car related expenses are about 9% of my spending, so hopefully I will be able to make arrangements to go without before too long.

I think I first decided to try to become an engineer around age 12. Now that I've done it, I know that I don't want to continue to do it until a normal retirement age like I had planned. So for the first time in my life I am uncertain about my future.

This is my first time posting on a forum of any kind. So apologies in advance for any breaches of etiquette.

-S

P.S. Anyone else in the area loving the heat this weekend?

C40

Re: Yet Another Midwestern Engineer

Post by C40 »

Hello, fellow midwestern engineer. Welcome to the forum :-)

James_0011

Post by James_0011 »

Thats pretty amazing that you wanted to be an engineer at age twelve, Im not even sure if I knew what an engineer was at that age...

Seamus

Post by Seamus »