Choosing Semi-Retirement Now

Say hello!!
keithHudd

Choosing Semi-Retirement Now

Post by keithHudd »

About a year ago, I first ran across ERE, and it blew my mind. I had always been a cheap person, but this was just next-level stuff. I starting making my own ERE plan, thinking I could get my fat-stash a little quicker than 5 years because of previous savings.

But several deaths in my family, including my father on the second day of the school-year, made me re-evaluate life. I didn't hate my job, but I hated the amount of time I was working. As a debate coach, I was putting in 80 hour weeks. The activity had become hollow for me, and so I was killing myself for other people's ambitions.

So I went what I'll call ERE plan B -- cut my expenses to ERE levels and semi-retire. In the piece My Four Hour Work Week, Jacob writes "Aside from being financially independent, I also maintain a 4 hour work week just to prove that you don’t need to accumulate six figures of net worth to leave a full time career."

I'm a teacher by trade. I'm enjoying the mini-retirement of Summer Vacation. When I go back to school, I will be working half days. Not a four-hour work week, but reliable holidays and weekends off bring it down to much less than the norm (97% people who are employed). I like the standard set down by Thoreau: " to maintain one's self on this earth is not a hardship but a pastime, if we will live simply and wisely."

chenda

Re: Choosing Semi-Retirement Now

Post by chenda »

Well done! I've just done the same, starting Monday I'll just be working three days a week.

jennypenny

Post by jennypenny »

That's cool!

Part time work also seems like it would be easier to explain to people than early (full) retirement.

IlliniDave

Post by IlliniDave »