Hello from Minnesota

Say hello!!
Mimimoon02

Hello from Minnesota

Post by Mimimoon02 »

Hello All,

I am new to ERE, I love the concept of it, and gradually adopting some of the principals to my daily life and finances.
What draws me to this lifestyle is developing a better relationship with money. Growing up, my parents had horrible personal finance, they were drowning in credit card debt. I have adopted some of their bad money management but am gradually learning how to manage it better.

I wanted to share the financial situation I am in, and I welcome any suggestions.

I am 30 years old and my SO is 32 (almost 33)
I make $150,000 a year, and my SO makes $35,000 a year. I know it's quite a disparity in income, although he just started his new job, so he should be getting a significant raise soon. I guess it really doesn't matter very much, but our take home pay after taxes, medical deductions, and retirement deductions is $9400. I realize that this is a significant amount of money, but I don't think I am managing it well at all. I have made some changes to decrease my spending over the past 6 months, so this is where I am now.

$2660 / mo mortgage, we took out a $400k loan on a $420k house 1.5 years ago, 30 year mortgage at 4.5%
$1000 / mo student loan payment (total student loan debt is $200,000) I am paying it back via the REPAYE program which caps the monthly payment at 10% of discretionary income, and I have filed for the public service loan forgiveness program which will forgive the unpaid amount after 10 years of payments (i have currently completed 1 of the 10 years )
$750 / mo in Utilities, cell phone, TV/Internet, car insurance