Good morning from the Netherlands

Say hello!!
NickHalden

Good morning from the Netherlands

Post by NickHalden »

Hello, my name is Nick, I am 25 years old and I consider myself very lucky that I found out about about the ERE-movement relatively early.
First a little bit about myself. I have a lovely wife and 1.5 year old daughter and I work as a department manager with a rapidly growing IT company. My wife works about 2 days a week as a elementary school teacher, and she is also the one taking care of our daughter and household during the week.

Born and raised in the Netherlands by quite conservative parents I have never gotten used to excessive luxury and spending. My dad always had well paid jobs as an insurance-agent, account manager, CCO and so on, so I always considered my parents wealthy. My mom does not have a job and has always been responsible for taking care of me and my brothers and the household. They have a nice fixer upper stand-alone house since I was born, but even in the times where my dad made a true load of money my parents never considered buying something ridiculous even though my dad was regularely pushed by co-workers to buy some kind of mansion. My dad always told me how ridiculous he thought it was that his boss used to tell him 'One day you can also live rich like this, buying Armani suits and getting your groceries in Paris (300 miles away!!)'. My dad also lived by the idea to save a lot and retire quite early, but unfortunately fate got other plans and he lost his job at exactly the wrong moment and was forced to take a much worse paying job a year later. He told me that if he had 2 or 3 more years in the well-paying financial sector he could have survived until his social security and pension kicked in, but the fact is that that is not the case.