NJ has a law requiring pets be buckled up...
>>Under New Jersey Statute 4:22-18, unrestrained pets in vehicles is an act of animal cruelty, and drivers who don’t secure their pooch in a pet seat belt will be subject to fines, ranging from $250 to $1,000 and as much as six months in jail. “That’s for each offense,” Col. Frank Rizzo, police superintendent for the New Jersey Society for the Prevention of Animal Cruelty, said Wednesday, according to The Bergen Record. “So, if you have more than one animal loose in your car, just do the math…”
Here's my dilemma. I don't live in NJ, but our vet is there. A few times a year I literally drive 2 miles into NJ to take them to the vet and back. Do I risk the fine? Do most states have this law and I'm just behind the times?
Of course I'm taking my dogs in Saturday to be boarded while we're away.